UEFA reveals shortlist for best player award

Adjust Comment Print

Paris: Cristiano Ronaldo, Luka Modric and Mohamed Salah make up the three-man shortlist for the UEFA Player of the Year award for the 2017/18 season, European football's governing body announced on Monday.

UEFA have announced their final shortlists for the Men's and Women's Player of the Year awards, with Lionel Messi missing the cut.

Messi, himself a two-time victor finished fifth in the long-list behind fourth place Antoine Griezmann who won the World Cup with France in the summer but was outscored in both La Liga and the Champions League last season by Messi.

Modric was once again instrumental in steering Madrid to the Champions League crown for the fourth time in the past five years, and built on that display by winning the Golden Ball award at this summer's World Cup in Russian Federation.

The Egyptian had a stellar debut season on Merseyside, scoring 44 goals on his way to capturing the Premier League Golden Boot and PFA player of the year award.

More news: Watch Deontay Wilder Crash Tyson Fury’s Weigh-In, Clash With Fighter’s Dad
More news: Sergio Ramos mocks Jurgen Klopp's managerial record
More news: New Omarosa tape: Lara Trump tried to buy silence with campaign job

Similar to the aforementioned Ronaldo, the 32-year-old midfielder also made in excess of 40 appearances last season as Real Madrid went on to lift the UEFA Champions League trophy.

His frosty relationship with Real Madrid President Florentino Perez came to a head this summer, with the Portuguese moving to Juventus in a €100 million transfer.

The victor will be named, along with the UEFA Women's Player of the Year, in Monaco on Thursday, August 30, the same day as the draw for the Champions League group stage.

It may have been a record 13th win in the Champions League for Real but Ronaldo couldn't win La Liga for Madrid, who finished a distant third last season behind Lionel Messi's Barcelona, with seventeen points between the pair.

Kylian Mbappe, Kevin De Bruyne, Raphael Varane, Eden Hazard and Sergio Ramos complete the top 10.