Facebook Bug Causes 14 Million Users Posts to be Shared Publicly

Adjust Comment Print

Erin Egan, Facebook's chief privacy officer, said this did not affect past posts. The company estimates that 14 million users were affected, and is notifying users of the bug starting today. The bug affected Facebook posts between May 18 and 27; although Facebook fixed the error on May 22, it took five days to reverse the problem for all affected posts.

CEO Mark Zuckerberg ultimately issued a mea culpa and promised to do better for its users, a promise, in light of the most recent bug, is something the company is going to have to work harder to keep. On Thursday, the company announced a new test feature had changed users' privacy settings without their consent.

Starting today, affected users will get a message from Facebook advising them to "Please Review Your Posts". Facebook will soon start individually informing the people who were affected by the bug. It happened because Facebook was building a "featured items" option on your profile that highlights photos and other content. If they don't check to make sure that they have the correct settings before hitting "post", they may be sharing sensitive information with users they didn't intend to.

A Facebook representative said in the statement that the company had heard "loud and clear" that it needed to be more transparent about "when things go wrong" ― and this notification was part of that effort.

More news: David Koch to retire from Koch Industries due to poor health: memo
More news: Katie Taylor: Man dies after shooting at gym of boxer's father
More news: Merkel hand Macron olive branch on eurozone reforms

Social media giant Facebook is under the spotlight once again after it revealed 14 million users may have had their posts made public due to a glitch.

Facebook was back in the spotlight in the past few days after the New York Times reported that Facebook had data-sharing contracts with device makers like Apple and Samsung.

Facebook, which said it discovered the bug, has not yet shared details about who may have accessed the exposed data, or how that access may have occurred. That way, users can reset a post that was inadvertently set to public back to being shared just with friends if they would like.

Comments