Twitter Reactions: Disciplined KKR bowling restricts RCB to 175

Adjust Comment Print

The Indian Premier League game against Kolkata Knight Riders on Sunday will be a test of character for embattled Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Dinesh Karthik (KKR captain), "Always feels better to win first".

The last time KKR and RCB met, a blistering knock by Sunil Narine helped the Knights to a win.

Chris Lynn and Sunil Narine put on 59 for the first wicket and although Murugan Ashwin provided two breakthroughs, they weren't enough.

On the other hand, RCB, led by Virat Kohli, have never got any momentum. He repeated the stroke against Mitchell Johnson and ensured that he retained the strike, not allowing a struggling Mandeep Singh any of it.

Kohli had played a blinder, playing shots that made one breathless even though he found little support from the others. Opener Quinton De Kock, who has scored 165 runs so far, would like to carry on with his good performance after he had smashed 53 off 37 balls in the last match. Both were hit off Andre Russell.

More news: Police arrest 2 on suspicion of attempted murder before Liverpool-Roma game
More news: Incident at oil refinery near Lake Superior could harm environment
More news: Ex-FBI chief Comey's book sells 600000 in first week, publisher says

Lynn scored 62 off 52 deliveries with seven boundaries and a six, an effort that won him the man of the match. A slower delivery on off-stump, Mandeep swung and did not get the elevation he needed and Shivam Mavi took the catch at deep midwicket.

Manan Vohra and de Kock can get RCB a quick start in the powerplay overs. McCullum toe-ended a pull to the keeper.

FIFTY PARTNERSHIP! Just the start the team needed. However with Nitish Rana retiring hurt and Russell falling first ball, all the load shifted onto the able shoulders of Karthik, who ever since the Nidahas Trophy heroics, seems to have assumed the finisher's role. RCB are at the sixth place with two wins and four defeats, KKR is placed at no 4 with three wins and four losses. Broadcast Starts at 20:00 Hours (IST). RCB seemed more aware than they were in their last encounter against KKR by not exposing their spinners against Narine early.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (Captain), Quinton de Kock (WK), Brendon McCullum, AB de Villiers, Sarfaraz Khan, Mandeep Singh, Chris Woakes, Washington Sundar, Kulwant Khejroliya, Umesh Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Colin de Grandhomme, Moeen Ali, Manan Vohra, Aniket Choudhary, Navdeep Saini, Murugan Ashwin, Pawan Negi, Mohammed Siraj, Corey Anderson, Parthiv Patel, Aniruddha Joshi, Pavan Deshpande, Tim Southee. Despite posting an efficient 175 on the board, riding on Virat Kohli's unbeaten 68, RCB went down to some resilient batting from Chris Lynn at the top and fine finishing skills of KKR skipper Dinesh Karthik.

With Star India now acquiring the media rights from Sony Pictures Network India for the upcoming season, the matches will be telecast on various Star Sports channels.