IND vs AUS T20: Cloudy with a chance of rain in Ranchi

Adjust Comment Print

During the first T20I between India and Australia at the JSCA International Stadium Complex in Ranchi, Kuldeep Yadav demonstrated yet another example of the wicket-taking threat that those of his ilk provide on a regular basis.

Australia was 118-8 in 18.4 overs when rain intervened for almost 90 minutes and curtailed its innings.

With today's victory, India are leading the 3-match T20I series by 1-0. Toss results are out and Indian skipper Virat Kohli has opted to bowl first.

This is published unedited from the PTI feed.

The 28-year-old batsman's injury is a new blow to Australia as they lost the one-day series in India and are preparing for a key Ashes series against England in two months.

India captain Virat Kohli brought up the winning runs with his third boundary in his innings of 22 off 14 balls.

India captain Virat Kohli praised his team's bowlers after the hosts thrashed Australia by nine wickets in a rain-truncated first Twenty20 global at Ranchi.

More news: 1 seat after beating Ostapenko
More news: Chelsea manager Antonio Conte blames tiredness for home defeat to Manchester City
More news: Police probe Canadian vehicle attacks, stabbing as 'acts of terrorism'

The DLS method was required after Australia's innings was cut short by bad weather, the tourists having lurched to 118-8 by the time rain stopped play during the 19th over.

Australia captain Steve Smith will miss the Twenty20 series against India to return home due to a shoulder injury with the Ashes on the horizon.

Australia: David Warner (capt), Aaron Finch, Glenn Maxwell, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Dan Christian, Tim Paine (wk), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa, Jason Behrendorff.

The 5 ODI series has come to an end, and Team India did come out with flying colours. He said that batsmen will struggle to get under the ball. Ind vs Aus 1st T20 is scheduled to start at 7:00 PM IST.

Kohli has smashed four half-centuries in his last four matches against Australia, three of them unbeaten.

Marcus Stoinis will replace Smith in the T20 squad, with David Warner captaining the side.

Left-arm wrist spinner Yadav then dismissed the unsafe Finch for 42 and also all-rounder Moises Henriques, earning excellent figures of 2-16 off his four overs.