KKR oust defending champions Sunrisers Hyderbad

Adjust Comment Print

The Mumbai Indians will take on the Rising Pune Supergiants in the Indian Premier League (IPL) final after Karn Sharma's four-wicket haul saw his side defeat the Kolkata Knight Riders by six wickets.

With a low score to chase, the MI reached the score by losing just 4 wickets.

Opting to bowl first, KKR produced a disciplined bowling and fielding effort to first restrict Sunrisers to a modest 128 for seven and then overwhelmed the revised target of 48 in six overs with consummate ease.

RPS have beaten the Mumbai franchise in all three meetings this season most recently in the first qualifier at the Indians fortress of Wankhede stadium.

T-20 fans have never had it so good, may the best team win!

In a video released by BCCI, Hardik Pandya was seen interviewing brother Krunal where the latter said, "All credit goes to the bowlers". The likes of Lasith Malinga and Jasprit Bumrah, who have quite a lot of variations up their sleeves, will also relish the conditions.

More news: Newest Statue on Wall Street: 'Pissing Pug'
More news: Sonic Mania dashes onto consoles and PC on August 15
More news: The Late: Italy leader says G-7 talks were calm and free

Karn was brilliant in the fixture picking up 4 for 16 in four overs as KKR limped to 107 all out, failing to make use of all 20 overs.

That's how the Defending Champion, SRH, ended their tournament this year in play-off.

Sunrisers skipper David Warner feels they were 30 runs short of what would have been a defendable score on this wicket.

KKR captain Gautam Gambhir was disappointed that his side missed out, but felt it was hard to stage a fightback after being 31 for five at one stage.

KKR play nemesis Mumbai Indians on Friday for a place in the final. The risky pinch-hitter Sunil Narine, frustrated with the ploy, came down the track for a big hit but missed it completely to be stumped. The game was finished by captain Rohit Sharma (26) and Krunal Pandya (45 not out) who together put on 54 runs to take Mumbai to their fourth IPL final.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Gautam Gambhir (captain), Darren Bravo, Trent Boult, Piyush Chawla, Nathan Coulter Nile, Colin De Grandhomme, Rishi Dhawan, Sayan Ghosh, Sheldon Jackson, Ishank Jaggi, Kuldeep Yadav, Chris Woakes, Chris Lynn, Sunil Narine, Manish Pandey, Yusuf Pathan, Ankit Rajpoot, Suryakumar Yadav, Robin Uthappa and Umesh Yadav.